Sumy Oblast

Sumy Oblast

Ukrainian Oblast
Ukrainian Oblast Less

Sumy Oblast

to get instant updates about 'Sumy Oblast' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Sumy Oblast (, translit. Sums’ka oblast’; also referred to as Sumshchyna - ) is an oblast (province) in the northeastern part of Ukraine. The administrative center of the oblast is the city of Sumy.

Other important cities within the oblast include Konotop, Okhtyrka, Romny, and Shostka.

As of 2004-05-01, the population is 1,255,866, which includes 886,100 city/town-dwellers, and 483,700 villagers.


The Sumy Oblast is situated in the northeastern part of Ukraine. The area of the oblast' (23,800 km²), comprises about 3,95% of the total area of the country.

The obalst' borders the Bryansk Oblast (Russia) on the northeast, the Kursk Oblast (Russia) on the east, the Poltava on the southwest, the Kharkiv Oblasts on the south, and the Chernihiv Oblast on the west.

Points of interest

The following historic-cultural sited were nominated for the Seven Wonders of Ukraine.

Administrative divisions

The Sumy Oblast was established on December 10, 1939. Today it comprises 18 raions (districts), 15 cities, 7 city municipalities, 20 Urban-type settlements, 384 village councils, and 1500 villages.

The following data incorporates the number of each type of administrative divisions of the Sumy Oblast:

  • Administrative Center - 1 (Sumy)
  • Raions — 18;
  • City raions — 2;
  • Settlements — 1526, including:
    • Villages — 1491;
    • Cities/Towns — 35, including:
      • Urban-type settlement — 20;
      • Cities — 15,......
      • ...

Read More

No feeds found

Posting your question. Please wait!...


Ukrainian Oblast
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from