United States Senate elections, 1940

United States Senate Elections, 1940

Election Less

United States Senate elections, 1940

to get instant updates about 'United States Senate Elections, 1940' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

The United States Senate elections of 1940 coincided with the election of Franklin Roosevelt to his third term as President. Although Roosevelt was re-elected, support for his administration had dropped somewhat after eight years, and the Republican opposition gained three seats from the Democrats. However, the New Dealers regained firm control of both the US House of Representative and US Senate because Progressives dominated the election. The Farmer-Labor Party also disappeared from the Senate, as Henrik Shipstead joined the Republican party and Ernest Lundeen had died during the preceding term.

Although incumbent John G. Townsend, Jr. (R-DE) was defeated by a Democrat, Republicans defeated incumbents James M. Slattery (D-IL) and Sherman Minton (D-IN), and took open seats in Nebraska and Ohio.

Senate contests in 1940

<sup>1</sup> special election held due to death of William E. Borah (R-ID)

<sup>2</sup> special election held due to death of James H. Lewis (D-IL)

<sup>3</sup> special election held due to death of Marvel M. Logan (D-KY)

<sup>4</sup> special election held due to death of Ernest W. Gibson (R-VT)

Senate composition before and after elections



See also

Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from