YSR district

YSR District

Indian Jurisdiction
Indian Jurisdiction Less

YSR district

to get instant updates about 'YSR District' on your MyPage. Meet other similar minded people. Its Free!


All Updates

Kadapa District (formerly Kadapa or Cuddapah District) (, ) is one of the 23 districts of Andhra Pradesh, India. On 8 July 2010, the government of Andhra Pradesh renamed the district in honor of Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy, a former chief minister of Andhra Pradesh who was a native of the district and who was popularly known by his initials "YSR". No one knows based on which opinion the state government took such a decision. However, presently congress is the ruling party and it bagged the opportunity to change the name of a very ancient district. Shame on filthy politicians.

The city of Kadapa is the district headquarters. It had a population of 2,601,797 of which 22.59% were urban as of 2001.


Cuddapah has historical importance since BC era. It was connected with Mouryans in BC era and Sathavahanas in the third century AD. It was part of the area ceded to the British by Nizam. The District was formed by splitting the Ceded Districts into two in 1808 during the British rule, the other district being Bellary. The British spelt the district as Cuddapah.

The district is part of Rayalaseema, commemorating the name of Rayulu (Kings) of the Vijayanagar Empire, who ruled the area in 16th century. Gandikota fort located on the bank of Penna river was the citadel of Pemmasani Nayaks, commanders of Vijayanagar army and who won the battles of......
Read More

No feeds found

wait Posting your question. Please wait!...


Indian Jurisdiction
No messages found
Suggested Pages
Tell your friends >
about this page
 Create a new Page
for companies, colleges, celebrities or anything you like.Get updates on MyPage.
Create a new Page
 Find your friends
  Find friends on MyPage from